20 kilograms (44 lbs) down…

16 Feb

I had my lap-band installed on the 6th of December and I have lost 20 kilograms so far.  This is GOOD progress… but I find myself increasingly impatient with the weight-loss.  I’ve been told the statistics time and time again…  lap-band patients don’t lose their weight as fast as gastric bypass or gastric sleeve patients…. but, 5 years after surgery, the weight-loss ratio (of the lap-band) is pretty much the same as the other surgery options.  Does that make sense?

In other words – lap-band patients do lose their excess weight…  just not as FAST as the other guys.

I knew these stats…  and I accepted these facts when I opted for the band.  BUT… now I am just so damn impatient!  I want the weight all GONE – and I want it gone NOW!

Yes, yes.  I know it’s not a race.  I know I should be patient.  I know.  But “knowing”…. and “feeling”…. are two different things.  And you can’t just switch off “feeling”.

Good news and celebrations though…  I cannot tell you how WONDERFUL it feels to be 20 kilograms lighter!!!  Already my energy levels have soared (I was constantly tired before).  A real treat for me is to fit into jeans that had been stored away for many months (because I was way, way too fat for them).  Now – I’m throwing THOSE jeans away!  The jeans you saw me wear in my previous post – are now too big – and have been donated.  Shirts that I hadn’t managed to squeeze into for many months are now baggy.  Even my feet have shrunk!  And… I can wear my wedding ring again.

I guess my only grumble is the rapid shrinking of my boobs!  Bra’s that used to fit very snugly are now loose – both around my back – and in the “cup” area!  I am a natural-shaped pear, and I KNEW this would happen…  but still, I’m not entirely delighted about it, I must say.

Apart from clothes that now fit – there have been lovely, satisfying little milestones along the way.  Like, being able to fit comfortably into the movie seats at the Cresta cinema without having to force my butt past the armrests!  I only realized after I had sat down, that my butt had brushed past the armrests (instead of being painfully forced).  This put a big smile on my face.

Oh, and I went for my first “fill” the other day.  The surgeon injected 5cc’s of saline into my band.  It gives me enough restriction to feel fairly full for most of the day – and to eat normal-sized plates of food (instead of the huge mountains I managed to devour before)… but I would still prefer more restriction… maybe another 2cc’s.  I have booked myself in for a second “fill” at the end of March.  In the meantime, the progress has settled down into a gradual loss of about 1 – 1.5 kilograms a week (which, I must admit, makes me feel very impatient indeed).

OK – I must go – I have so so so much work to do (hence my not-very-regular postings)…  but here is a quick little pic I took of myself this morning.

Thanks for reading & keep in touch!

x

3 Responses to “20 kilograms (44 lbs) down…”

  1. Tracey Kelsey February 16, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Brilliant Heather.

    You’re looking absolutely radiant whenever I see you these days!!!

  2. blog admin February 16, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    (reply from Suzanne)

    Great Post Sister…

    I actually think impatience and perfectionism in the weight loss process is also something worth discussing when the group meets… you and I have touched on this before. My theory – you are a hard-line perfectionist, and you look for any and every opportunity to be hard on yourself, even in this sort of situation, where you are forced to relinquish control. This is the point, in the past where you would have got fed up and thought “stuff this! why bother!”.. (notice the words I used “stuff this”.. resulting in stuffing yourself with food) and given up on a traditional weight loss plan, as you were not losing weight according to your own exacting standards (or in the places you want to lose it from?)

    If I diet at the weight I am now (62kgs), it would take me two weeks to lose 1.5kgs, unless I only ate salad and water. 1.5kgs a week is solid and encouraging progress, allow yourself to enjoy your successes! (Yes.. successes IS the right word, even after lap-band surgery)

    We will get to discuss some of these issues at the 1st Fed Up (Food Addicts Therapy) session on 5 March. We still have a few places – any ladies interested in attending please email talktosoopat@hotmail.com for more information.

  3. Indy February 19, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    Great post Heather. I had gastric bypass 2 weeks ago 02/08 and I feel the same way. I lost 20 pounds including pre-op diet. For some reason I feel like it should be more. I think your sister is right about the control thing, cause I am totaly that way too. I don’t like relinquishing control to anybody or anything. previously I got frustrated and gave up. But can’t give up now, gotta keep going through the process regardless of how long it takes. I smile knowing that eventually the weight will come off. I wish I could attend some of you guys sessions, but I am in Memphis, TN. But I will be keeping up with the blog posts. Nice to see someone going through the process with me. If you get a chance, check out my blog at: http://www.fatgirldiary.com

Leave a Reply

